Library Sindh Study FG Study Punjab Study
PakStudy :Yours Study Matters

Pakhtun Students Federation Peshawar Stands divided

Offline sb

  • **
  • 27692
  • +5/-0
  • Gender: Female
Pakhtun Students Federation Peshawar Stands divided
« on: March 01, 2009, 10:57:40 AM »
Pakhtun Students Federation Peshawar Stands divided

Peshawar, Feb 28: The elections of the NWFP chapter of Pakhtun Students Federation (PkSF) were held here Friday amid protest by an aggrieved group, which boycotted the process and staged a sit-in and protest demonstration.

The elections were held at the Bacha Khan Markaz, the Awami National Party (ANP) secretariat, after which Majid Khan and Riaz Marwat were declared president and general secretary of the PkSF, respectively. However, a group of dissenting students, who boycotted the polls alleging partiality on part of the election committee, launched a separate group in the name of Azad Pakhtun Students Federation (APkSF). The boycott decision was followed by strong protest and sit-in at Bach Khan Markaz by the dissidents and a subsequent protest demonstration in front of the Peshawar Press Club.

Asadullah Mayar, leader of the newly formed APkSF, said they had conveyed their demands to the central leadership of the party, but there was no response. Speaking at a news conference at the pres club, Mayar deplored what he called the lack of interest in the PkSF problems by the party's central leadership. "Despite calling itself a democratic party, all decisions in the ANP are being taken by a few selected people who cannot tolerate PkSF groom as a democratic platform and generate democratic people," said Mayar.

He said they had boycotted the provincial election of the federation because they had no trust in the election committee, which "was a so-called committee comprising the government servants."

Mayar also introduced office-bearers of his body, including Attaullah, senior vice president, Daulat Khan, general secretary, Bilal, vice president and Asif Aziz, press secretary. A statement from the Bacha Khan Markaz, however, refuted the allegations levelled by the dissenting students.

The statement said Majid Khan, who is president of PkSF Agriculture University, was elected as the provincial president of the federation and Taj Mohammad Wazir as senior vice president.

Other newly elected office-bearers of the PkSF include four Vice Presidents - Abdul Hameed, Abdul Majeed Mahsud, Haq Nawaz Marwan, Pir Haroon Ali Shah, Deputy General Secretary Gulzar Hussain Babak, Press Secretary Imran Mamay, Finance Secretary Shahid Iqbal Khattak, Joint Secretaries Wajid Iqbal Bajaur, Tariq Jameel, Ahkamuddin, Nasir Kamal, Cultural Secretary Zia-ur-Rehman, while Jamal Babar, Rizwanullah, Haq Nawaz Charsadda, Jalal Khan and Farhan Khan were elected as central committee members.
If you born poor, its not your fault....But if you die poor, its your fault...."Bill Gates"